Tayebwa Elected Deputy Speaker of 11th Parliament

Hon. Tayebwa

Hon Thomas Tayebwa has been duly elected as the Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament.  Tayebwa is the member of parliament from Ruhinda North County  in Mitooma District.

The results of the election have been declared by the Speaker of Parliament, Rt Hon Anita Annet Among who was elected earlier.

The RESULTS of the election are;

  • 📌 Thomas Tayebwa- 379
  • 📌 Okot Junior Bitek- 82
  • 📌 Invalid – 0

Tayebwa, who was endorsed by NRM Central Executive Committee – CEC on Thursday. He was nominated for the position of the Deputy Speaker by Sarah Opendi, the Tororo Woman MP. He was seconded by Lilian Aber, the Woman represantive for Kitgum District.

He contested for the position of the speaker with his rival, Moses Okot Bitek Jr, the Kioga County MP in Kioga District who was jointly endorsed by the six opposition parties in Parliament that include his party, Forum for Democratic Change – FDC, Democratic Party- DP, National Unity Platform – NUP, Uganda People’s Congress – UPC, Justice and Equity Movement Party – JEMA, and People’s Progressive Party – PPP.

Okot Bitek was nominated by Opposition Chief Whip John Baptist Nambeshe and secinded by Aruu North MP, Santa Okot.

In his acceptance speech, Tayebwa thanked President Yoweri Museveni for appointing him Government Chief Whip which earned him good experience that will enable him to execute his duties with diligence.

Prior to his election, Tayebwe, 41, was the Government Chief Whip in Parliament for the ruling National Resistance Movement – NRM party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here