Mangat Wins Independence Rally, Becomes 2013 National Rally Champion


Jas Mangat won the Independence Rally that took place in Mukono yesterday (Sunday 6th October) retaining his title as the National Rally Champion. Jas became only the sixth driver to retain the national title.

Mangat who was overjoyed by his win said he would focus on his next Rally in Madagascar. If he wins the Madagascar Rally he will become the African Rally Champion.

Previous drivers to retain the title include Jimmy Dean (1987-88),  Sam Sali (1989-1992), Karim Hirji (1993-95), Emma Kato (1996-97) and Charlie Lubega (2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004).

Runner up Geoffrey Kiyagga finished five minutes behind Mangat and Vik Saini finished third.

Ronald Ssebuguzi who was driving a Mitsubishi Evo9 and Shafiq Ssemujju who drove a Subaru N11 only raced the super special stage. This handed Mangat the title on a silver platter.

Ssebuguzi needed to finish in the top 6 to win the title. He finished second overall with 236 points.

John Consta was in the title race as he won the opening two sections but he pulled out of the race due to mechanical failure.

Past national champions who didn’t retain their titles include Moses Lumala,Charles Muhangi, Ponsiana Lwakataka, Ahmed Ashraf Susan Muwonge among others.

Independence Rally Results

Jas Mangat                1:31.41 

Geoffrey Kiyaga     1:36.18

Satvinder Singh      1:40.22

Jonas Kansiime     1:41.10

Leila Blick                 1:48.48

Ismail Otega             1:52.05

Edson Mungyereza    1:52.29

Mansur Lubega    1:54.29

Wilber Pole Pole     2:12.17


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here