South Sudan Admitted into East African Community


South Sudan has been admitted into the East African Community (EAC), increasing the common market to a six member nation with 162 million people.

The 17th Ordinary EAC Heads of State Summit in Arusha, Tanzania, resolved to admit Africa’s newest nation into the economic bloc on Wednesday.

South Sudan applied for EAC membership soon after gaining its independence from neighbouring Sudan in 2011, upon being invited by the presidents of Kenya and Rwanda.

At the ongoing summit former Tanzanian president Benjamin William Mkapa was appointed new facilitator of the ongoing Burundi negotiations to replace Uganda’s president Yoweri Museveni.

The summit also appointed Mr Liberat Mfumukeko from Burundi as the new Secretary General (S.G) effective next month. He has been the deputy secretary general of EAC in charge of Finance and administration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here