Full List of the 2018 Airtel FUFA Award Winners & the Best XI


Yesterday night of Friday 7th December 2018 saw off the Airtel FUFA Awards 2018 where a number of male and female sports individuals were recognized out because of their outstanding performances from respective categories.

SC Vipers and Uganda Cranes Midfielder Moses Waiswa was named as the best footballer of 2018 from the men’s category while Ruth Aturo, the goal keeper of the Crested Cranes and Uganda Christian University (UCU) Lady Cardinals.

Revellers at the FUFA Awards 2018
Revelers at the FUFA Awards 2018

Waiswa guided Vipers to the 2017/18 Uganda Premier League success as well as Cranes to the second successive qualification to the TOTAL AFCON finals 2019 while Aturo was named as the best goal keeper of the tournaments in both the CECAFA Women Championship held in Rwanda and COSAFA championship in South Africa where Uganda was invited as a guest country.

Ruth Aturo standing aside her car prize
Ruth Aturo standing aside her car prize

In the other Awards, FUFA Honorary President Dr Lawrence Mulindwa was named the FUFA Presidential Award winner, a special category selected by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo. This award is conferred upon an individual who is deemed by the FUFA President to have contributed to the game of football exceptionally and it has been previously won by Paul Ssali, Ali Tomusange and Muhamood ‘Blatter’ Kalema.

Irene Ntale Performing at the FUFA Awards
Irene Ntale Performing at the FUFA Awards

Here is the full list of winners;

  • Best Male Footballer of the Year – Moses Waiswa (SC Vipers Midfielder)
  • Best Female Footballer of the Year – Aturo Ruth (UCU Lady Cardinals Goal Keeper)
  • FUFA Presidential Award winner – SCVipers President Dr Lawrence Mulindwa
  • Airtel FUFA Big League player of the year – Noel Nasasaira (Ndejje University FC striker on loan from KCCA FC)
  • Airtel FUFA most promising player award – Mustafa Kizza from KCCA FC
  • Airtel FUFA Coach of the year – KCCA Football Club Manager Mike Mutebi
  • FIFA Referee Brian Miiro Nsubuga (Airtel FUFA referee of the year)
  • Shamirah Nabukenya (Airtel FUFA Upcoming referee of year)
  • Meddie Kibirige (Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year)
  • Maroons Football Club (Airtel FUFA Fair play of the year-30 yellow cards, 1 red card)
  • Allan Okello (Airtel FUFA fans’ favourite player of the year based in Uganda)
Allan Okello Fans favourite local player of the year.
Allan Okello Fans favourite local player of the year.
  • Uganda Cranes captain Dennis Onyango (fans’ favourite Ugandan player – foreign based)
  • Khassim Kyazze (fan of the year).
  • A football fan Mubiru Joseph was also recognise for winning the 102.1 FUFA fm Sports Quiz ‘Nantamegwa we Mizanyo’ that ran for one month.


Each Award winner bagged home Sh 1m transferred electronically to their respective accounts. The 2nd placed got 500,000/- while third palce 300,000/-.

The Male and Female best footballers each won a car and Sh 500,000 from Post Bank for fuel. The MVP FUFA Big League winner took home a 50 Inch Television set courtesy of BetLion.

Prizes for the Male and Female MVPS
Prizes for the Male and Female MVPS

The Airtel FUFA best squad of h season 2017/18 was also named and it stood as follows;

The Airtel FUFA Best XI had SC Villa goalkeeper Samson Kirya, Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Timothy Denis Awany (KCCA), Henry Katongole (Vipers), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA), Moses Waiswa (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma (Vipers), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars) and Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here