EAST AFRICA TOURIST VISA                                 


All you need to understand about acquiring foreign tourist visa to move freely in the three east African countries. The East Africa Tourist Visa is a single multi-entry visa for foreigners visiting Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda simultaneously. The single visa last for 90 days and expires automatically after one moves beyond bounds of three 3 countries.

The joint ingenuity made by the Heads of States of the respective partner countries to boost regional tourism and create opportunities for tourists to explore the diversity rich of East Africa. A tourist who gets the East Africa Tourist Visa must start travel from the country that has issued the Visa.

Who is eligible for the East African tourist visa?

For any foreign traveler who wish for the holiday throughout the three allies of Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda for tourism purposes must have this kind if visa. The visa can be issued at a diplomatic representation among the three countries at the immigration offices.

How to Apply:

The East Africa Tourist Visa can be acquired manually or online by submitting EATV Form 1.

The application may be made prior to the intended date of travel or on arrival at the first port or entry into Kenya, Rwanda or Uganda where applicable. Applications can also be lodged at any of the diplomatic representation of the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda, at the Immigration Offices of the respective countries or online where applicable.

Every application for an East Africa Tourist Visa shall be accompanied with the East Africa Tourist Visa fee of one hundred United States Dollars (100 USD) or its equivalent.

You can visit your local embassy website to find more info about online visa application process.


Recently taken colored passport size photo with white background without glasses, caps and scurf is attached to the application form by use of glue stick.

A complete filled application form.

Visa application letter addressed to the issuing authority of the concerned country.


A special consideration has been given to expatriates (foreign residents) residing in Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda. They no longer need a visa to visit any of the three countries. They can now obtain an Inter-State Pass which is valid for 6 months.

In addition to the requirements listed above for the East Africa Tourist Visa, the expatriates/foreign residents are required to have a valid work permit/identifications.


Kenyans, Rwandans and Ugandans use their national Identity Cards as travel documents within the region, using of a National Identity card started on 1 January 2014. Using a national identity cards enables citizens to spend up to six months within the bounds of the other countries.

And students who are nationals of the three countries can use their Students Identification Cards(IDs) to travel within bounds of the three countries.

Details of the Tourist Visa

-No work permit is needed

-Last for 90 days

-Currently only valid in three countries OF kenya, Rwanda and Uganda.

-The visa expires automatically if one moves out of boundaries of the three countries.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here